Running, jogging, and racing have all seen a growth in popularity in recent years. Running is a physically demanding activity. It requires dedication, determination, stamina, and mental toughness. Why in the world is it becoming more and more popular? I will give my insight as much as I can, it will all be speculation and associated with why I enjoy running.
It's Social
We are live in a social world that is constantly expanding. Running provides a common ground, a conversation starter, or just a gathering. Most people have a need to be social, and running can be a great way to bond, strengthen friendships, or meet new people. Finding someone to run with is a great way to find enjoyment in running, but it also makes the sport so much more appealing. Not a lot of sports offer the opportunity to socialize and become a better athlete, and live a healthier lifestyle.
Cost
Running is generally a cheap sport to do. A pair of running shorts can be as cheap as 15 dollars, nice socks can be around 10 dollars, shoes (minimalist/barefoot shoes) can be about 60 dollars. You can buy the extras like hydration belts, headlamps, etc., but compared to most sports the gear is actually pretty cheap. The one thing that does cost a little money is race fees, and if you decide you want more top of the line gear.
We were made to do it
Red Born to Runby Christopher McDougall and it will explain the scientific evolution of the human body and how we were, well, born to run. It's natural, it's challenging, and it's calming.
It's Challenging
Something inside of most humans drives us to go further. Running is a sport where you can constantly improve and go one step further. It's fun to challenge ourselves and make improvements.
I am thoroughly convinced that running is one of the most popular sports today because of how social it can be. Running can be a great way to meet new people and have great conversations. It is a friendly sport. There are people out there that break the unwritten rules of running though, so let's get them out there for everyone to see.
Don't be a race bandit (running races without paying and registering)
Don't be cocky (everybody is out running the race, it's an accomplishment no matter what, so don't act/pretend you are better than anyone)
Congratulate and give encouragement as you run by someone
Wave at other runners, walkers, bikers, etc. when you just out training
Use a valid and respectful race strategy
Not acceptable
Loafing then sprinting then loafing then sprinting
Over aggressiveness
Running the fastest mile you ever have just to lead the race for a bit
Start a race where you think you should start a race (if you know you're not going to be a top finisher, don't start right up front)
Finish with class, be humble (chances are if you won a road race, you did not win the Olympics...just saying)
Respect the rules of the road (stay on the left side of the road, respect the vehicles, and wear the right clothing...especially at night)
Not necessarily for runner's but it deals with etiquette: Don't honk at runners for no reason or yell random obscenities/"Run Forrest Run" (we've heard it all before)
I love food as much as the next guy, and this is a struggle as a runner. What to eat, when to eat, how much to eat? These questions consume any athlete. Hop online and do the research for diet and you come up with a cluster of contradicting information. Ultra runners are unique in that many are vegans, with their sole diet consisting of fruit and veggies. Some runners drink soda, some ultra's hand it out. Some runners load up on carbs, protein, etc. Some runners just don't care. I tend to align with the last one of these. I'll explain why.
Runner's Need Fuel
I am a strong believer that, depending on how much you are running, it doesn't matter a whole lot what you are putting in your body as long as you are burning it off. Now I am not a dietician or health fanatic and I'm sure most people most people will discount what I have to say, but in my first post I said most of this blog will develop from personal experience. I read the book Once a Runner and it gave a great analogy for runners, "if the furnace burns hot enough, it can burn through anything." Now, I'm not saying to go out and binge eat junk food, soda, and big macs. What I am saying is, don't spend so much time wondering and worrying about what you are putting in your body, which brings me to number 2.
Eating is a Mental Game
I often have the conversation/lecture with the kids I coach about eating the right foods, drinking the right drinks, and being careful about how much they eat. Then paranoia sets in and they start over thinking everything. It becomes a mental game, if you tell yourself you are going to cramp because you eat something, chances are you will. If you tell yourself you might run poorly if you eat something, chances are you will. Before every race I ran in high school I always had a Red Bull and banana. I always ran fine, arguably well, because I told myself I wouldn't do well without those things. Red Bull is horrible for you, but my mind took control of the situation. Now I take a different approach, I don't focus on what I put in my body, I focus on running. I tell myself I am going to run well, and feel fine no matter what. It works.
Now it's time for the Contradiction
In the first part I basically said it doesn't matter what you eat/drink. That's not true. Scientifically your body will perform better with/without certain things. Cut out the bad things from your diet. It's ok to have junk food here and there, just don't live on it. It's ok to stop at McDonalds once in a blue moon, just don't live on it. I don't drink soda, I don't drink alcohol, and I rarely eat fast food. I know these things are harming my body and they don't really do much for me so I cut them out. The point of this is bad foods are ok in moderation, and a few oreos probably won't make you a worse runner. One big mac won't ruin you as a runner.
Set Goals For Yourself
You do it with your running, why not apply goal setting to your diet. Seven weeks ago I decided to stop drinking soda, mainly because of this article. I have had the urge to pick one up, but have not because I know it would be detrimental to my goal. I was drinking at least 1 or 2 bottles of soda a day, and I needed a change. I drink more water and juice now and feel a lot better about myself because of it. I also sleep better at night, and save a lot of money. Along with this I stopped eating fast food. I started running down 5th Avenue South in Fort Dodge, which is lined with fast food establishments. I was so disgusted by the smell that I decided if I can barely stand running by these places because of the smell, why should I eat at those places. Once again I feel a lot better about myself because I have stuck with the goal. Maybe start small, "I will eat more fruit and veggies" or "I will cut back on candy, cookies, and chips." It's a lifestyle choice that you have to make and if you set your mind to it great things will happen.
Don't Lie to Yourself
Just because a poptart says it is made with real fruit, does not make it healthy. Just because a bag of potato chips says it has 40% less fat, does not make it healthy. Don't become that person who makes up those lies and excuses. If you give up soda, give it up. Don't reward yourself with the initial thing you gave up. DO NOT ever say "It's just one." You have just given up, if that's the case.
Research
Find something that works for you. Do the research online, Runner's World and Run Addicts have excellent articles focusing on health and diet. Don't assume everything that is written will work for you, and don't discount something just because another article does. Spend time searching for what is right for you. Everybody is different and people's bodies respond differently to different things.
The fastest people on earth, who are they? Based on Olympic champions, world records, marathon domination, most people would say...Kenyans. Kenya has dominated the long distance field for years and continues today with a new world record in the Mens marathon in Berlin set by Wilson Kipsang and Kimetto setting a new course record in Chicago just this year. The book, Running with the Kenyans, is written by Adharanand Finn of England. It follows him and his family on an extended trip to Kenya so Finn can train with a group of Kenyans. He is introduced to methods of training, a new diet, a different form, etc. Like Born to Run this book also introduces the "barefoot" running style but flips back and forth and actually presenting both sides of the issue. The book is truly inspiring and makes me want to pack my bags and head over to Kenya for a few months just to see what I can do.
It is crazy to think that in the small community that Finn lives in for a short period of time is home to past world record holders and Olympic and marathon champions. If you are a runner in Kenya you are not doing run of the mill road races for benefits, you are doing long races to win. When I ran in college I had a few teammates from Kenya and it always blew my mind how easy it was for them to run. After reading this book the picture is a lot more clear. I hear people say things like "it's because they have an extra muscle" or "if I had to run from lions I would be fast too." These are somewhat offensive because it's creating a reason why these people are fast that is not accurate whatsoever. These people are fast, simply because they run...a lot. It is their life, not every Kenyan is fast, but the ones that decide to run, make it their lifestyle, they make it their job.
The finale of the book is set in the desert of Kenya as Finn, along with his Kenyan teammates, are running one of the most brutal marathons known to man. As I said earlier, this book is truly inspiring, makes you want to improve your running in every aspect, and is an unforgettable read.
I always have to remind myself of this idea for some reason, because no matter how experienced a runner is it is always annoying to not run how you expect to run. I have been training for a marathon recently and have set my goal at 3:30 which is 8 minute pace for 26.2 miles. Not a bad pace, and should be a good time for my first one. Many Saturdays are devoted to pace work, so I go out and run the designated distance at 8 minute pace, or close. One training day I set out on a 10 mile run and struggled to even hit 8:20 pace, which is what I finished the run in. I was annoyed, frustrated, and discouraged. How in the world am I going to run 26.2 miles at 8 minute pace if I can't even do it for 10 miles? I started to realize what most runners start to lose sight of as they become better and better, and work harder and harder. It is ok to have a bad training day.
It happens to the best of us. Sometimes our legs just don't want to move like you want them to. Sometimes they move better than you need them to. Never let a situation or experience like this bring you down as a runner. Lace up the shoes again and keep going. The next weekend I ran 8 miles at 6:40 pace so obviously something was going right. It is right to be annoyed and frustrated because it shows you care about your training. We all have bad days, and running is no exception. Your body is amazing the way it works. One day you can go out and work wonders on the pavement, the next may feel like all your training has been a waste. Stick with it, don't be discouraged and embrace those bad days because they are humbling.
Up until reading Born to Run I was convinced that I needed to pay top dollar for my running shoes. Always looking for cushion, stability, support, and the occasional style. At the sporting goods store I work for we carry Nike, UnderArmour, and Asics shoes. In high school I was dead set on Nike, because they looked good and they fit my feet well. In college I switched over to Asics shortly, because I was able to get them 40% off and everyone who knows anything about running knows Asics are the "best." Almost all the time when somebody comes in to buy a pair of running shoes we always refer them to Asics. They cost more, they are dependable, they are stylish. This is my biggest dilemma recently because I am not a fan of any of the shoes we sell. I will wear them for walking around, but not for running, and here is why.
Take your shoes off at some point and run around barefoot. I will guarantee you that you will notice your running form changes after a few short strides. You will start to run on your forefoot, you will stand up straighter, you will feel more fluent when you run. Now put your shoes back on and run around. Immediately you will go back to the form you are used to, probably a heel strike, slouched a bit, and looking at yourself you would say you look heavy and awkward when running. You have never noticed this before, because this is what modern running shoes have taught you to do. Heel striking is a modern invention and believe it or not is not good for you. It puts more strain on the knees and forces energy the wrong way. A midfoot or forefoot strike is ideal because you are not striking the ground very hard, you naturally stand straighter, and it takes the strain away. Watch this video below.
What happens next? Ditch your expensive running shoes that offer support, cushion, and stability. It is not helping you. Now don't ditch them completely because most people, especially flat footers, will need a transition period to minimalist running shoes. I run in the New Balance Minimus and I love them. I have also been running here and there in the Saucony Hattori, a zero drop shoe (no built up heel). I had knee issues in the past, and those issues disappeared almost immediately when I made the switch. My calves took a little while to adjust because you are using that muscle so much more. I feel like a stronger, faster, more fluid runner. In the short 2 months I have been wearing the shoes I have put about 350 miles on them and I feel so much better. Injury free is the best part. After I ran the Dam to Dam in Des Moines in June, I thought my knee was done for, and it was for the summer, until I started training with my minimalist shoes. The best part is, they are cheap. I spent 60 dollars on my New Balance shoes, and 30 on my Saucony's. Asics run anywhere from 100-180 dollars. Why spend that much money on something that is actually doing more harm.
The Saucony Hattori
One precaution I should state: DO NOT start training the minimalist way all at once. Switch back and forth. Slowly build up strength in your feet and calves. Run 1 mile with your minimalist shoes and run the rest with your normal shoes and slowly build up. I don't run barefoot because my feet are really sensitive. I probably will never run barefoot but I am as close as it can get without totally stripping off the shoes. I swear by this approach. The other you need to do is research. Many websites will tell you that minimalist/barefoot running can harm you, and I agree, but so can any running. It works for me and many others, but that doesn't mean it will work for you. The statistics are striking, 60-85% of all runners get injured every year, wearing these shoes that offer more cushion, more support, and more stability. If the injury rate is that high it should raise some red flags: "Maybe these shoes are not the greatest" or "Maybe I don't know how to run." In Born to Run Christopher McDougall states that running in more cushioned shoes is like putting an egg in an oven mitt and hitting it with a hammer. You really are not doing much, that egg will still end up smashed. When you wear a more cushioned shoe your foot naturally accommodates and strikes down harder. Offering more stability and support provides your feet with a crutch and makes your feet weaker. When you break your arm and get cast, the purpose is to offer support, and it works because the bone eventually heals, but your arm becomes weaker while having that cast there. These fancy running shoes do the same, but with even more negative repercussions. Knee injuries, plantar fasciitis, shin splints are all associated with the conventional approach. Let your feet do what they were made to do, set them free or at least don't hold them back.
I think inspiration is hard to come by. When I say that I mean authentic inspiration. Many times inspiration comes and goes. I remember the night before state cross country sitting down with the team and watching "Without Limits" the movie about Steve Prefontaine. The inspiration worked, I felt like going out right then and there and dropping a new PR. But that inspiration eventually wore off, which is the main reason I always go back to that movie. Some people look for inspiration in movies, songs, people, YouTube videos, books, etc. Rarely do these things stick. We get inspired, we go and run, maybe feel good for a day, a week, a month, but eventually it wears off and running becomes a chore, so we search for inspiration again. It's a cycle. There is nothing wrong with it, because it works.
My form of inspiration, as of late, comes from a popular running book titled Born to Run by Christopher McDougall. The book has become a phenomenon amongst the running community with its new found approaches, and controversial topics relating to evolution, barefoot running, and ultramarthon training. I read the book, sped through it, and found myself a changed runner. I immediately ditched my running shoes and invested in some New Balance Minimus', started changing my form, started running for the pure love of it, changed my diet, and I feel so much better about myself as a runner. I will talk about this book in later posts, but I do recommend it to everyone to find some sort of inspiration. Running is a lifestyle, one that sticks. I ran in high school and college, and my running slowly faded after my time as a competitive runner because I lacked inspiration. I could not find a purpose to running. My whole running career was devoted to winning, setting records, breaking PR's, impressing others, attaining acknowledgment, but never running truly for myself. After reading this book it dawned on me that running should not be about winning a medal or award, those things come with time. Running should be done out of enjoyment. Sounds kind of hippy-ish, but it's true. When I hit the roads, trails, sidewalks, etc. I find myself enjoying what I am doing because there are no strings attached, I just love doing what I am doing no matter if I am running at a 6 minute pace or 9 minute pace. The bottom line is I am doing the running because I have a purpose. Not to win. Not to PR. Not for acknowledgment. I am running for me.
I want to introduce myself and explain the purpose of this blog in my first post. My name is Aaron Schmidt, I am a high school English teacher, cross country and track coach, and I work part-time at a sporting goods store. I ran cross country all four years of high school, competed in track my last two years of high school. I ran cross country for 2 seasons in college at Iowa Central Community College, and ran track for 1 season. It wasn't until very recently that I found a new love for running which I will explain in a later post, and I wanted to share my stories, insights, and knowledge with a wider audience. I am not a scientist or psychologist so perhaps a lot of what I have to say is mere speculation on the sport of running coming from my own experiences. I am not a great runner, but I am experienced in the sport. My list of personal records is at the bottom of this blog just to show some of what I have accomplished, most of the times are from high school and college, but I am slowly working my body back into that shape and hope to break some of those soon.
Running is a great sport. Anyone can do it, and anyone can do it well. I challenge anyone to go above and beyond. Read the words that I write, find inspiration, apply some of these things, and live a better healthier life. I am not going to pretend that some of the stuff I write is new information. Most of the research I have done has inspired me and I want to spread that information out. I will discuss personal experiences, research driven approaches, form, races, training, shoes, attire, and the list goes on. Please follow me on twitter: @schmiaah .